1612924-3x2-940x627Never thought I’d be rubbing shoulders with the likes of Kerry O’Brien, Tony Jones, Leigh Sales and Emma Alberici and, sadly, I’m not. But just like the aforementioned respectable journalists, I am now having my work featured on the national broadcaster, in the shape of a series of op-eds The Drum website has published in recent weeks. Thus far I’ve outed Rhonda as a female sex tourist and Ketut a rent boy, argued that the path to victory for Tony Abbott at the next election lies in becoming Australia’s answer to Downton Abbey’s Lord Grantham and, today, provided an insider account of the wilds of Western Sydney. The most exciting aspect of writing for the ABC has been the erudition of the personal abuse I’ve received from anonymous posters, far superior to the feedback provided by critics when I’ve written opinion pieces for News Ltd or Fairfax. “By the stars, what tosh” (from will_r) and “Talk about a load of irrational, unsubstantiated tripe devoid of logic or historical accuracy!” (rob1966) are personal favourites.